Balance Your Chakras – The Sixth Chakra

11297049_sChakra 6 is the Ajna, which means “to perceive.” It is located between the eyebrows, just above the bridge of the nose. Emotions include higher consciousness, perception and intuition. Sixth chakra energy resonates with clear thinking, clear vision, psychic, emotional and mental intelligence.

Do you have an uncanny ability to predict the future? Are you a good student? Do you trust your intuition, but know when to go to experts for advice? If you answered yes, you are functioning with a robust sixth chakra, the center of our mental energy.

Using 6th chakra intelligence, we can identify behavior or thought patterns in our life. It becomes clearer to us how we got to where we are, and how to integrate our intelligence with intuition. People who function from healthy mental energy don’t let themselves get discouraged by roadblocks when they truly feel they are doing what is right for them to do. Instead, they search for alternative paths to the same goal, ask for advice from experts and rely on Divine Intervention. They take advantage of synchronistic guidance.

People who have an over-active sixth chakra may be unable to accept the reality of what is around them. They may suffer even from paranoia, hallucinations or nightmares. They may be hypersensitive, assuming that other’s emotions are targets at them or reacting to imaginary situations.

People who have under-nourished sixth chakra energy tend to be insensitive, unaware of what is going on around them. They may need to be told bluntly how their behavior is hurting or offending another person.

We inhibit sixth chakra growth when we refuse to acknowledge that we don’t know everything. This results in judgment of others. When the intuition chakra is balanced, one feels strong intuition, imagination, a connection to oneself and mentally fit. When we are fully grounded and centered, we can learn from our dreams, trust our intuition, and have the courage to be fully interconnected with all life and stand aside with humble joy to be a part of this awesome dance.

Suggested Yoga postures include:

Yoga Headstands, Corpse, Supported forward bends, Alternative Nostril breathing, Eye exercises

Color: Dark Blue

Element: All elements

Would you like to read the whole Balance Your Chakra Series?

First Chakra

Second Chakra

Third Chakra

Fourth Chakra

Fifth Chakra

Seventh Chakra


An excerpt from my new book “Tantra Living: A Yogini’s Companion for Happiness”.

Image: Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

One thought on “Balance Your Chakras – The Sixth Chakra

  1. The free energy of Kundalini flow, when gets blocked by third eye chakra aka Ajna chakra, severs the organism’s connection with outside world to a considerable extent, either in the close vicinity of it or in the alienation of distance far away from it along with the distortions that it generates in both of them.